top of page

everything i do is for my grandparents.

whether its dumb because i never met them

or pathetic because i never will

everything i do is for my grandparents


when i make the choice to raise my hand in class

when i make the choice to push harder on an assignment

when i make the choice to be brave and introduce myself to someone new

when i make the choice to be confident and assert myself

everything i do is for them


you may think its weird to miss someone you never knew

maybe that's why i don't talk about it much

but with every story i hear, i just yearn to know more

with every picture i see of them i just stare and stare and stare at it

because it feels like that'll bring us close


when i'm sitting down and i feel at tug at my hair

when i feel a slight push on my arm

i turn around, but nothing is there

i know that it has to be one of them

reaching out for me from the other side


when things work in my favor,

i know someone's up there using their charm and pulling the strings for me.


i just know that wherever i go, they're with me

they're protecting me

they're proud of me.


i know that i'm here to take care of my mom.

my grandfather and i just missed each other

i know that something sent me so that she would not be alone.


everything i do is for my mom.

i don't think i've ever felt a more intense bond

every memory we share fulfills the fact that i'm here for a reason.

they made her, and for that i am grateful.


i don't think anyone knows how much i carry them with me,

how proud i am to say that i descended from them.


when i see a picture of them

i stare and stare and stare

because maybe that will bring them close

and for now that's all i have.


they say i have a big forehead like my grandfather

that i'm nosey like my grandmother

i treat people with kindness like my grandfather

my mom and i walk fast like my grandmother

i'm close with my great aunt like my grandfather

i know i curse a lot like my grandmother


i've never been the type to be apathetic towards where i came from

towards the people that came before me

because as a Black american, that only goes back so far

since I was young I've always created family trees

i've always sought out the answers

i flooded ancestry and myheritage with the names i knew

no cigar.

i've always been curious

because the stars aligned a thousand times for me to be here

i wanna know those stars


i'm not my ancestors' wildest dream

they're mine

i dream of the day when the puzzle pieces come together and i know the prologue to my story.


but for now,

i'll continue staring into photos.

i'll finish writing the rest of the book.

i'll color the pages for the ones who come after me.






Comments

Partagez vos idéesSoyez le premier à rédiger un commentaire.

let me know what you think...

Rate Us
PoorFairGoodVery goodExcellent

Thanks for submitting!

© 2020 by kmworded. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page