top of page

pictures are little memory boxes...

I really like pictures.


I wouldn't say that I like taking pictures, both being in one or being the one capturing the moment, but I like pictures taken when people are children and then kept for years and years to be seen again when those children are now adults.


My mother legit has 20 photo albums of us and her family. From those small book-like ones to the large binder-like ones. I love flipping through them at least once a year to remember all that has happened in our lives.


My mom doesn't have many pictures of her mother, her mom didn't take many. So my mom never misses a chance to take a picture, she says that its so that when she dies, we'll have plenty of pictures to rememeber her by.


I can imagine how cruel it must be, to remember someone so deeply and love them so dearly but only having a few frames to remember their face.


When I look at old pictures, whether they be a year old or 20 years old, a movie plays in my mind depicting that moment. The sound of what their voice may have sounded like floods my ears and it feels like I'm there. Pictures are so intimate; I'd say the photograph was the best invention ever made.


I wonder about the people in those pictures. Well, not really wonder but more so long for them in a weird way. You can't help but think about what they've become or that they had no idea how the world would turn out. Some people in pictures are dead, but you know they never would've imagined someone looking at their picture and mourning them. Some people in the pictures don't speak anymore and you wonder if they realized that moment would be the last peaceful one between them. Some people in pictures are children, and you appluad the innocence they once had that is now lost.


Dramatic Irony. That's what it is, that's what I feel.


Pictures can make you feel in control, well when you're looking at them that is. In a way, they're our only look into knowing the future. You look at a picture and you know exactly what happened before that moment and what led up to that picture. You also know exactly what happened after the picture, as you're looking at it. I think that's why they bring me peace.


I really like pictures. They're so important. Take more pictures. I beg of you.


PS. I feel like genius because in the second to last a paragraph I said pictures are a look into the future, but I thought it sounded really dumb, but then I was looking for a picture for this post (the one that made you click on this ;) ) and I saw one with a quote I HAVE NEVER SEEN IN MY LIFE that said the same exact thing. So yeah, I'm a genius...all deep and shit, lol.

Comments

Share Your ThoughtsBe the first to write a comment.

let me know what you think...

Rate Us
PoorFairGoodVery goodExcellent

Thanks for submitting!

© 2020 by kmworded. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page