top of page

How I Decided to Go Away for College...

I've always seen myself going to college. Not completely for the learning—because you can be successful without going to college, but more so for the experience. I think it's a necessary rite of passage for transitioning to adulthood.


As a junior, I had to begin thinking long and hard about where I wanted to be. I imagined myself at a large campus with traditional architecture, tons of trees, and overall just an environment that always felt like fall. Butttt, I was basing that solely off of what I saw in the movies (oops). I've realized that I'm probably not going to get that in New York City.

Here are some of the reasons I've decided to go away:


1. Change

I've lived in the same house my whole life, gone to school with the same people, traveled to the same places, and all I can say is that I'm bored! I need a change in scenery and new things to explore.


2. To Come Out of My Comfort Zone

College is a place you're supposed to grow at, people say they discover themselves there and as I've made my way through high school, I don't think I've reached my full potential. By being in a new city (yes it has to be a city because I refuse to be in the middle of nowhere), I could become a completely evolved Kayla.


3. Friends

I've heard that college is where you meet your lifelong friends. Not that my friends now aren't great, but in college you have more of a choice who you deal with. Now, I talk to certain people because they're more tolerable compared to the other people in my environment. That comes off as really rude, but I mean that in the nicest way possible. In college, you have classes with people who are possibly passionate about the same things you are. Interactions become more authentic and meaningful <3.


4. I Eventually Want to Come Back Home

I see myself living in Brooklyn as an adult. Hopefully I can afford it. Although I love New York, I need a break. I most often hear people saying they regret not going away for college, and I don't want to have any regrets. So I must go away, in order to come back!


However, some cons of being away from home is that I'd be all alone. I'd be most afraid of getting homesick. Also, racism. yikes. I want to feel comfortable wherever I go, which means I have to keep a lot of factors in mind.


With all this being said, I still have no idea what college I want to go to, lmao. This could change, and knowing me I'll probably just end up staying in NY. sigh. Regardless, I have an idea of where I want to be and I plan on trying my hardest to make it happen.

Comments

Share Your ThoughtsBe the first to write a comment.

let me know what you think...

Rate Us
PoorFairGoodVery goodExcellent

Thanks for submitting!

© 2020 by kmworded. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page